My relationship with my favorite band, MUSE.

May 8, 2012


For a person who is going into music in the future (I am joining the Army Band), I really do not listen to a lot of music.  I always try to get into listening to new bands and songs, but I just cannot do it.  I always have this inclination that I have build a relationship with the band/singer before I can really listen to their music.  It took me over a year of listening to MUSE before I considered myself a genuine MUSE fan.  Their have been bands in the past that I will have a month obsession with, then realize how lame they really are and stop listening to them.  I always feel the need to love every song before I consider myself a fan.  There is a feeling of disappointment when a band I start getting interested in has a song that I do not care for.  It is like developing a new friendship with someone, and then realizing that they have some nasty habit of excessive drinking, it is just so disappointing.

I am not saying that I do not accept flaws of others, it is just always depressing to think you knew someone, but that is what you get for assuming, right?  Anyway, back on to music…

I can honestly say that I cannot find a song I dislike by MUSE.  I have my favorites, and songs that I just do not listen to as much, but I do not think I hate any of their songs.  Even if I were to find one that I do not like now, it is too late, I am already sucked into the MUSE obsession.

I am going to start with my beginnings of my MUSE obsession.  I mainly stumbled upon it when my brother in-law had me listen to a song of theirs.  He has a huuuge music collection that I am jealous of, but my relationship with music distracts me from creating that collection.  I listened to one of the songs, instantly loved it, asked the group name.  Thank goodness it was an easy band name, not some complicated lengthy phrase.

The next few days I started looking up MUSE on youtube (mainly because the lack of owning itunes, and not wanting to commit to buying something yet) and my very first song of theirs was Uprising.  I mean it is the first or second song when you search it in, so I thought I would try it.  I loved it instantly and I almost burnt it out now because I loved it so much.  I kept researching this band, and I knew it was for me.  It sounds stupid, but I felt overwhelmed at first, but I loved getting to know the band.  I looked up all their albums so I knew them in chronological order, I was obsessed.

I am obsessed Matt Bellamy, he has a voice like nothing I have ever heard or loved before.  Some people hate on his excessive breathing (gasping), but I feel like it adds passion to his performance.  Plus, I respect that he’s using as much air as he can get in order to sing.  I sound exactly like that (maybe not as gaspy sounding…) when I play french horn or sing.  I love that he played the piano, and he is frickin good at it.  I also love that his voice can be sexy and sultry but also sweet and gentile.  His voice can also sound powerful, tearful, hopeless, or passionate.  He is just so emotional with everything he sings.  And his range is insane.  Now, I am in love with low voices, basses and baritones, but I cannot pass up his amazing voice.

I love that their newer albums are adding in more classical influences.  I love their Rachmaninoff influences, the giant chords and intense passages.  I also love the Chopin inserts and influences.  In United States of Eurasia, they straight up put the Chopin Nocturne Op. 9 No. 2 in it.  It is kind of a cliche nocturne, but it is still gorgeous.  Plus, Chopin is inching as my favorite piano composer, Brahms needs to watch out.  The Exogensis Symphony is such an improvement from their punky rock days, which I still love listening to.  Considering it is the band’s first symphony, I totally respect them for it.  Not that it is Tchaikovsky, Rossini, or Brahms, but it is not like their are very many new symphonies being written by these guys….

My dream, (besides just seeing them in concert, I hear their unreal to see live) would to play french horn in their band.  Just during the orchestra works, then just listen to them the rest of time.

I cannot wait for them to release another album, I hope they do not disappoint.

By the way, if anyone wants to donate MUSE cds to me, I would probably love you for the rest of my life.

 

I could keep rambling forever, but I really need to stop.  This is what happens why I stay up late.

Enjoy one of their many amazing songs.

 

Later,

Kelsey.

Leave a Reply

