Being Beautiful.

September 11, 2011


Beauty can really be a tricky topic.  I’ve always had insecurity issues.  My old best friend in middle school had a jerk boyfriend (still dating 5 years later) who would make fun of me, tell me how ugly I was compared to my friend, call me (and his girlfriend) fat all the time for about 2 years.  It kinda got to me.  That’s probably why I can’t handle when guys talk about how a girl  looks negatively, it’s abuse.

A girl should never be called ugly, it’s just wrong.  I can’t stand it when guys make fun of how a girl looks, it sets me off.  Girls feel required to be beautiful all the time.  T.V. shows make it seem like girls have to look good every second of the day.  Guys complain when girls stop trying as hard into their looks when they are dating.  Every single girl magazine is either talking about how you look, or how to act in a relationship.  I can’t stand it sometimes.

Guys can look like crap all they want, but when a girl wears sweatpants (God forbid), she is an ugly slob.  Guys claim that they don’t like when girls wear makeup, but they would actually be surprised how different we look without eyeliner and mascara.

What is being beautiful?

Some people think “looking good” and material objects are beautiful, that’s the obvious superficial answer that everyone pretends they don’t fall in.

Some people think it is your confidence or your smile.  How is someone supposed to have confidence when they are constantly made fun or told how ugly they are?

I think everyone has their own definition of beauty.  These are some good bible verses, which I need to live by.

I pray that I will stop worrying about my outward appearance.

 

1 Peter 3:3-4

Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

 

1 Timothy 4:8

Physical exercise has some value, but spiritual exercise is much more important, for it promises a reward in both this life and the next.

 

1 Samuel 16:7 –

The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.

 

Proverbs 31:30 

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting: but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

 

Later,

Kelsey.

One Response to “Being Beautiful.”

  1. tayguff said

    Hey Kelsey!
    I stumbled upon your blog, and just wanted to encourage you that you are such a great woman of God! I know I don’t know you but anyone who does should be able to tell just by being around you. You are very wise and mature, and I will be praying for you as you continue to follow his path!
    Thanks for encouraging me today!
    Taylor :]

Leave a Reply

