So much practicing.

July 28, 2011


So I am playing for a wedding this Friday, and I have practiced so much in the past two days it’s ridiculous.  Yesterday I probably practiced for like 7 hours in total.  That’s literally all I did.  Accompanying on piano is hard.  I can honestly say that I am pretty good at playing piano but I need to work on my sightreading skills on piano, because they are not very great.

Today I had rehearsal with the violinist, and within the first 10 minutes I thought I was going to cry.  I was not doing so well.  Okay, in my defense, I only got the music a few days ago so I did not have a lot of time to work on it, but I did my best.

I was very glad though that the violinist subtly told me to just play the left hand line, so I wouldn’t cover her up, aaaaaand then I would have less mistakes.

But by the end of the rehearsal I was feeling better about my playing.  I just wanted to do well.  I mean it’s different when I’m getting ready for a recital, if I mess up, then it’s only affecting (is that the right affect/effect?) me, but when playing for a wedding, I don’t want to mess anything up because it is the bride and groom’s day and I would feel awful messing something up for them.

And they are paying me, and I don’t want them to regret paying me.

 

By the way, I got frickin’ shampoo in my eye.  It frickin’ burrrrrrrrrrrrrrns, so don’t do it.  Holy crap, I can still feel a little sting from where it was.  Ughghhhghghghghhghhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Later,

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

