Yes officer,

June 17, 2011


Today was an interesting day, I must admit.  I started out as a normal morning, waking up, practicing some french horn, piano, watched television, cleaned, etc.  Then around 5:30, my brother and dad had to go to some carnival to play in a community jazz band.  Of course, they needed an extra trumpet player so I gave in and went.  I have filled in with them on bass a few times, but this was my first time playing trumpet with them.

So after that ended, my friend Allie texted me about hanging out at my local park.  I said sure, and after I had some dinner with my family I went over there.  It was me, my friend (from another school, met her through a band thing), and a bunch of kids I didn’t know from her school.  It was fine, they were all nice, accepting, and pretty chill.  So we roasted some marshmellows (I’ve been CRAVING), then once everyone got there, we started to play hide and go seek.

After quite a few rounds we stopped and went into the gazebo to hang out and talk.  Let me inform you with something straight up:  We were not drinking, doing drugs, having sex, or anything remotely illegal….except for one thing – being at the park after hours.  We were literally about to leave and guess who shows up?  Yep, a police officer.

Crap crap crap crap crap, was repeatedly going on in my head.  He asked us all for our IDs, and of course I didn’t have mine.  I switched purses and forgot to put it in there, I wasn’t driving so it’s not like I needed it at the time.  I told him my name, and he asked me for my date of birth.  After some talking to, and some searching he let us leave saying he was just making sure our records were clean and that we weren’t doing anything illegal.  I’m still freaking out that he will fine us, ticket us, or call our parents.  I mean, it’s not like it’s a crime, but it’s still a law.

I’ve been freaking out for the past hour, researching online about this situation, and it’s been scaring me too much, soooo I stopped.  I’ve only talked to a cop like once or twice, from car accidents, so it was scary to have a cop think that I did something illegal.  I mean, I’m so used to people knowing I am a good person, it’s weird to have someone think that I am doing drugs or that I am a typical drinking teen.

I’m sorry officer, but we were playing hide and seek.

 

Later,

Kelsey.

One Response to “Yes officer,”

  1. Elle said

    That sounds so freaky!! 😦 poor you!
    ur a pretty good writer! I’m one of those weird people that sometimes prefers blogs to books, xD and I think this blogs great! Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

